Switzerland adds parts of Germany, removes Austria from mandatory quarantine list

The Local Germany
The Local Germany - [email protected]
Switzerland adds parts of Germany, removes Austria from mandatory quarantine list
A sign at the Swiss border with Italy. Photo: FABRICE COFFRINI / AFP

Switzerland has removed several Austrian states, while adding one German state to its mandatory coronavirus quarantine list. The US has been kept on the list.


Note: This list is now outdated. A new story has been posted here

The Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) announced on Friday that several countries and parts of countries would be removed from the mandatory quarantine list. 

As of December 19th, the Austrian states of Carinthia, Styria and Upper Austria are removed from the list. 

Those heading to Austria will however be required to quarantine from December 19th. 

UPDATED: What you need to know about Austria's Christmas quarantine rules 



In addition, French Polynesia, Hungary, Italy’s Emilia Romagna region, Jordan, North Macedonia, Poland and Portugal will be removed from the list. 

The German state of Sachsen will now be added to the list, along with the Italian regions of Friuli Venezia Giulia and Veneto. 

A number of countries have remained on the list. 

These are: Andorra, Belize, Croatia, Georgia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden and the United States of America. 

The official updated list can be seen here




Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also