Germany's news in English

Editions:  Europe · Austria · Denmark · France · Germany · Italy · Norway · Spain · Sweden · Switzerland

World Cup winners lead Ballon d'Or race

Share this article

World Cup winners lead Ballon d'Or race
Mannschaft captain Philipp Lahm is among the nominees. Photo: DPA
09:02 CET+01:00
Six German footballers have been nominated for world footballer of the year - Ballon d'Or - following the country's World Cup success in Brazil this summer.

World football's governing body Fifa said on Tuesday morning that Mario Götze, who scored the winning goal in the World Cup final, Thomas Müller, Philipp Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Toni Kroos and goalkeeper Manuel Neuer were all in the running for Ballon d'Or 2014.

Arjen Robben and Cristiano Ronaldo are also among the 23 names.
Ten coaches have also been nominated for manager of the year by Uefa, including Germany's national coach Joachim Löw, Bayern Munich's Pep Guardiola and Jürgen Klinsmann who coaches the US national team.
Uefa president Michel Platini claimed last week that the Ballon d'Or should be awarded to a German player
The winners will be announced on January 12th 2015 in Zurich. 
Here is the full list of nominees in alphabetical order:
Gareth Bale (Wales), Karim Benzema (France), Diego Costa (Spain), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Angel Di Maria (Argentina), Mario Götze (Germany), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Toni Kroos (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Paul Pogba (France), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), James Rodriguez (Colombia), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire).
Get notified about breaking news on The Local

Share this article



The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
Become a Member or sign-in to leave a comment.