Berlin takes fifth national hockey title

Berlin takes fifth national hockey title
Photo: DPA
Berlin’s ice hockey team the Eisbären won the German championship on Tuesday night for the fifth time, beating Grizzly Adams Wolfsburg with a deciding goal in the 57th minute.

The Berliners can now add 2011 to their 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2009 championship titles, deepening their dominance of the sport in Germany.

“It was a perfect pass and then it was in. I had to let it drop first,” said Constantin Braun, who scored the winning goal. His winning shot put an end to what was the third finals play-off against Wolfsburg.

Grizzly Adams fans were less than gracious in defeat, whistling while the Bears were being presented with the enormous cup.

Yet the long history between the two teams, exacerbated by the various different play-offs which pitched them against each other during the season, was illustrated by a comment from Berlin defender Jens Baxmann.

“I think the Wolfsburgers are thinking they have already lost against us ten times,” he said during a break in the match.

But the match was relatively even, swinging backwards and forwards between the two teams with the Berlin Eisbären crucially holding their nerve better than their hosts.

It is not even the first time the Eisbären had won a title in a deciding match away from home – they did so in 2008 in Cologne and in 2009 in Düsseldorf.


Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.